Poetry: Frannie Lindsay, Jennifer Barber, Carrie Bennett

Frannie Lindsay, of Belmont, Massachusetts, won the 2009 Word Works Washington Prize for her full-length poetry manuscript, Mayweed

Jennifer Barber is the author of Works on Paper published by The Word Works, and Given Away and Rigging the Wind, both from Kore Press. 

Carrie Bennett has been teaching in the Writing Program at Boston University since 2004 and currently teaches creative composition seminars on playwriting. 


If Mercy Cover Image
ISBN: 9781944585044
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Word Works - April 1st, 2016

Works on Paper Cover Image
ISBN: 9781944585020
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Word Works - April 1st, 2016

The Land Is a Painted Thing Cover Image
ISBN: 9781944585006
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Word Works - April 1st, 2016

Mark Pawlak, Reconnaissance

Reconnaissance brings together a decade’s worth of Mark Pawlak’s work exploring the nexus of Japanese poetic journals and American observational poetics. These new and selected poems owe allegiance to the early experimental books of William Carlos Williams (e.g. Spring and All) as much as to the Pillow Book of Sei Shōnagan and to Basho’s Narrow Road to the Interior. They join aspects of poetry with the daily, or near daily, “takes” of journal writing, but differ from traditional diaries or journals by emphasizing the act of writing itself in collaboration with the day's account.


Lindsay Tigue and Jesse Diamond

In System of Ghosts, Lindsay Tigue details the way landscape speaks to isolation and personhood, how virtual and lived networks alter experience. She questions how built environments structure lives, how we seek out information within these spaces, and, most fundamentally, how we love.


System of Ghosts (Iowa Poetry Prize) Cover Image
ISBN: 9781609384012
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: University Of Iowa Press - April 1st, 2016

Leora Fridman & Sarah Green

Leora Fridman, My Fault, & Sarah Green, Earth ScienceLeora Fridman is the author of My Fault, forthcoming from Cleveland State University Press and winner of the 2015 CSU First Book Poetry Competition. She is also the author of the chapbooks Precious CoastObvious MetalsOn the Architecture, and Essential Nature, and Eduardo Milán: Poems, a chapbook of translations.

Leora attended Brown University, where she was awarded the Pembroke Poetry Prize and graduated with honors in Literary Arts. She also attended the University of Massachusetts Amherst MFA Program for Poets and Writers, where she was awarded a Graduate Fellowship and MFA Thesis Grant, taught College Writing and Poetry Writing, served as Assistant Director of the Juniper Summer Writing Institute and curated the jubilat/Jones Reading Series.


Sarah Green is the author of ​​Earth Science, ​released March 1 ​by​​​ 421 Atlanta. Of this​ poetry​ collection, Gail Mazur writes, “I’m tremendously moved by the insight and appetite in this eloquent debut.” David Rivard writes, “[Her] poems make [wisdom] sound peculiarly exciting.” ​Her work has appeared in Best New Poets 2012,​ The Incredible Sestina AnthologyPushcart Prize: Best of the Small Presses 2009, and elsewhere. Her ​2015 chapbook, Skeleton Evenings​ (Finishing Line Press)​, won the​ ​New Women’s Voices prize.​ This is her first full-length collection.​

Martin Espada, Vivas to Those Who Have Failed

Martin Espada, Vivas to Those Who Have FailedIn this powerful new collection of poems, Martín Espada articulates the transcendent vision of another, possible world. He invokes the words of Whitman in Vivas to Those Who Have Failed, a cycle of sonnets about the Paterson Silk Strike and the immigrant laborers who envisioned an eight-hour workday. At the heart of this volume is a series of ten poems about the death of the poet's father. "El Moriviví" uses the metaphor of a plant that grows in Puerto Rico to celebrate the many lives of Frank Espada, community organizer, civil rights activist, and documentary photographer, from a jailhouse in Mississippi to the streets of Brooklyn. The son lyrically imagines his father's return to a bay in Puerto Rico: "May the water glow blue as a hyacinth in your hands." Other poems confront collective grief in the wake of the killings at the Sandy Hook Elementary School and police violence against people of color: "Heal the Cracks in the Bell of the World" urges us to melt the bullets into bells. Yet the poet also revels in the absurd, recalling his dubious career as a Shakespearean actor, finding madness and tenderness in the crowd at Fenway Park. In exquisitely wrought images, Espada's poems show us the faces of Whitman's numberless unknown heroes.

Martín Espada has received the Shelley Memorial Award and a Guggenheim Fellowship, and was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize. He teaches at the University of Massachusetts Amherst.

Vivas to Those Who Have Failed: Poems Cover Image
ISBN: 9780393249033
Availability: On Order at the Warehouse
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - January 4th, 2016

Paul Lewis, The Citizen Poets of Boston

Welcome to Boston in the early years of the republic. Prepare to journey by stagecoach with a young man moving to the bustling city; stop by a tavern for food, drink, and conversation; eavesdrop on clerks and customers in a dry-goods shop; get stuck in what might have been Boston's first traffic jam; and enjoy arch comments about spouses, doctors, lawyers, politicians, and poets.


The Citizen Poets of Boston: A Collection of Forgotten Poems, 1789-1820 Cover Image
By Paul Lewis (Editor)
ISBN: 9781611688887
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: University Press of New England - April 5th, 2016

Marieve Rugo, The Only Afterlife, and Sydney Lea, No Doubt the Nameless

Mariève Rugo was born in Bucharest, Romania, and arrived at adulthood in New York by way of four other countries, four languages, and seven parents. She graduated from Radcliffe College and later took a graduate degree at Brown, where she also taught for several years. Her first book, Fields of Vision, won the Alabama Prize. Her work has also appeared in Chelsea, The Kenyon Review, The Southern Review, The Georgia Review, and many other journals. She lives in Boston.

Sydney Lea is poet laureate of Vermont, and author of eleven collections of poetry, a novel, and three books of naturalist essays.


The Only Afterlife: Poems Cover Image
ISBN: 9780899241449
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Lynx House Press - August 1st, 2015

No Doubt the Nameless Cover Image
ISBN: 9781935536734
Availability: On Order at the Warehouse
Published: Four Way Books - March 1st, 2016

Gail Mazur, Forbidden City

Gail Mazur's poems in Forbidden City build an engaging meditative structure upon the elements of mortality and art, eloquently contemplating the relationship of art and life and the dynamic possibilities of each in combination.


Gail Mazur is Distinguished Writer in Residence at Emerson College and Founding Director of the Blacksmith House Poetry Series in Cambridge, a weekly poetry reading series she ran for 29 years.

Forbidden City (Phoenix Poets) Cover Image
ISBN: 9780226349565
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: University of Chicago Press - March 31st, 2016

Kevin Hogan, My Riastrad, and Emily Axelrod, Passerby

My Ríastrad, Kevin Hogan's first collection of poetry, is a riveting autobiography told in the poet's unmistakable Boston-Irish voice.

In Passerby, her first book of poems, Emily H. Axelrod sees clearly the grime, the grief and danger of the world around her, but her vision is essentially a redemptive, celebratory one. Her poems are informed by moments of reunion and by memories of childhood: her cheek against a horse’s warm neck; racing to a waterfall, her body “young and lithe / as flexible as the silver birches…” 



Subscribe to RSS - Poetry