Marieve Rugo, The Only Afterlife, and Sydney Lea, No Doubt the Nameless

Within the framework of history, both personal and international, in The Only Afterlife Mariève Rugo examines memory, love, family, war, and dying. In the end she finds, through the poems, ways to accept and celebrate her life.

Mariève Rugo was born in Bucharest, Romania, and arrived at adulthood in New York by way of four other countries, four languages, and seven parents. She graduated from Radcliffe College and later took a graduate degree at Brown, where she also taught for several years. Her first book, Fields of Vision, won the Alabama Prize. Her work has also appeared in Chelsea, The Kenyon Review, The Southern Review, The Georgia Review, and many other journals. She lives in Boston.

No Doubt the Nameless delves the depths of elegy, yet moves at last into a positive reading of the human situation. Here are familiar rural characters, whose sturdiness and joy figure as strongly into Lea's narratives, both overt and implied, as do their trials and misfortunes.

Sydney Lea is poet laureate of Vermont, and author of eleven collections of poetry, a novel, and three books of naturalist essays.

Event date: 
Wednesday, March 30, 2016 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
Porter Square Books
25 White St.
Cambridge, MA 02140
The Only Afterlife: Poems Cover Image
ISBN: 9780899241449
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Lynx House Press - August 1st, 2015

No Doubt the Nameless Cover Image
ISBN: 9781935536734
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Four Way Books - March 1st, 2016