Staff Picks

JULIET TAKES A BREATH

Staff Pick Badge
Juliet Takes a Breath Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593108178
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - September 17th, 2019

 

 I think the blurb smack dab on the front of the book, the one from Roxane Gay herself, sums it up best. Early in the book, Juliet writes a letter to her feminist writer icon, saying, “I know you’re not a Magic 8 ball. You’re just some lady who wrote a book. But I fall asleep with that book in my arms because words protect hearts and I’ve got this ache in my chest that won’t go away.” Juliet Takes A Breath is a book you can fall asleep holding.

Leila 


Loki

Staff Pick Badge
Loki: Where Mischief Lies Cover Image
By Mackenzi Lee, Stephanie Hans (Illustrator)
$14.39
ISBN: 9781368022262
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Marvel Press - September 3rd, 2019

 

Mackenzi Lee adds depth and heart to the backstory of Marvel's Loki--but this book has wider appeal than just fans of the franchise. Mythology fans will appreciate the nods to the original lore; historical fiction buffs will adore Lee's well-researched vision of 19th-century London; and YA readers will fall in love with teen Loki and sweet new character Theo. As always, Lee is clever, quippy, and unafraid of exploring the complexities and contradictions of her characters, making her the perfect writer to give voice to the god of mischief.

Kate


Pavi Sharma’s Guide to Going Home

Staff Pick Badge
Pavi Sharma's Guide to Going Home Cover Image
$13.59
ISBN: 9780316491068
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 17th, 2019

 

A foster child on track to finding her “forever home,” 12-year-old Pavi runs her own business (salary: Flamin’ Hot Cheetos and school supplies) offering help and reconnaissance for fellow foster kids given placements with new families.When Pavi learns that a young girl at her old shelter, named Meridee, has been placed with Pavi’s first (horrible) foster family, she goes on a mission to make sure Meridee is safe, at all costs. This book provides visibility and empathy to children in the system who often receive neither, and provides lessons to readers about what it’s really like to be a friendless or endangered child.

Meaghan


Rat Rule 79

Staff Pick Badge
Rat Rule 79: An Adventure Cover Image
By Rivka Galchen, Elena Megalos (Illustrator)
$15.99
ISBN: 9781632060990
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Restless Books - September 24th, 2019

 

An inventive adventure full of wordplay, riddles, and strangely wonderful characters, this book is an utter delight! For readers of all ages who love The Phantom Tollbooth, Haroun and the Sea of Stories, and Alice in Wonderland.

Marika


Give Me Back My Bones

Staff Pick Badge
Give Me Back My Bones! Cover Image
By Kim Norman, Bob Kolar (Illustrator)
$13.59
ISBN: 9780763688417
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - July 16th, 2019

 

Poor Pirate Skeleton, he just wants to be whole again! And to teach kids about skeletal anatomy. Cute rhymes, bright colors, and pirates are a winning combination. Added plus: it's a good spooky-time book without being all about Halloween.

Stacey


White Bird

Staff Pick Badge
White Bird: A Wonder Story Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780525645535
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - October 2019

 

RJ Palacio's White Bird is what we need right now: it's a painful reminder of the past that finds present-day solutions in kindness. It'll make your heart race as it points you towards a productive reminder of what we can be when we stand up to the world. I wish it didn't feel so urgent, but reading this gave me hope.

Caleb


Slay

Staff Pick Badge
SLAY Cover Image
$15.19
ISBN: 9781534445420
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon Pulse - September 24th, 2019

 

A high school senior secretly creates a massive multiplayer online role-playing game dedicated to black culture but is attacked in mainstream media after a player is murdered. Perfect for fans of The Hate You Give and Ready Player One. You'll be ready to SLAY when you're done.

April


Salt on Your Tongue

Staff Pick Badge
Salt on Your Tongue: Women and the Sea Cover Image
$19.20
ISBN: 9781786891198
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Canongate Books - March 5th, 2019

 

Charlotte Runcie’s SALT ON YOUR TONGUE is an artfully woven tapestry of history, mythology, personal essay, and reflection that dives into the historical and literary ties between women and the sea. The book is framed by Runcie’s pregnancy with her first child and her own obsession with the ocean. As her child grows, Runcie visits the weathered seascapes and portside ruins of Scotland, while revisiting the importance of sirens, and fishwives, ancient saints, and seabirds. This book is a calm in the storm of womanhood, a peaceful place to contemplate all that that means. 

Meaghan


Lullabies for Little Criminals

Staff Pick Badge
Lullabies for Little Criminals: A Novel Cover Image
$12.79
ISBN: 9780062468475
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial - April 5th, 2016

 

Twelve-year-old Baby, the daughter of a young heroin addict, lives mostly on the streets of Montreal. Her story is gritty, tender, funny, disturbing, and unexpectedly hopeful. Also, Baby’s voice is unlike anything else I’ve read.  A stunning coming-of-age novel.

Catherine, Writer in Residence for Adults


Strange Weather in Tokyo

Staff Pick Badge
Strange Weather in Tokyo Cover Image
$13.56
ISBN: 9781640090163
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Counterpoint LLC - November 14th, 2017

 

This book is seriously entertaining without anything ever happening. The story moves forward but you’re unsure of how or why. Tsukiko shuffles through life awkwardly, whilst Sensei lives with intention. Their paths cross in a bar one night and somehow they end up picking mushrooms in a mountain later. 

Sinny


Monster, She Wrote

Staff Pick Badge
Monster, She Wrote: The Women Who Pioneered Horror and Speculative Fiction Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781683691389
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quirk Books - September 17th, 2019

 

This is a great place to start if you're a horror lover looking for more authors to read. There are so many mentioned in this book, not just the big names. I appreciate the trigger warnings that accompany discussions of some works, as there are some topics you may want to know about ahead of time. A beautiful ode to women horror and speculative fiction writers (including pulp fiction!).

Stacey


Pages